Tuesday, December 25, 2012

Google Web History - Turning it Off



Pause your "Search" Web History

If you're visiting a webpage or performing a search in Google Chrome and online at Google.ca./com your search are stored online by default at google.com/history.new window
If you don't want stored in your web history online:




2.Click Pause to prevent your future web activity from being saved in Web History and from being used to personalize your search results. To start keeping track of your web activity again, click Resume.
3.There is an option to Remove All Web History - what residuals remain is uncertain.

If you'd like to sign out of Web History altogether, click your name or email address at the top of the page, then select Sign out from the drop-down menu. Note that you'll need to sign back in to your Google Account in order for Web History to begin storing your web activity again.


Turn off Personal Results

Personal results are pages shared with you by your friends, Google+ posts from people you know, and content that's only visible to you (like private photos from Google+ new window and Picasa new window albums). Personal results are part of Search plus Your World new window.
You can see what your results look like without personal content by clicking the http://www.google.com/help/hc/images/websearch/websearch_searchplus_off.gif globe button on the top right-hand side of your search results page. This setting is session-specific, meaning that if you close your browser, personal results may appear next time you search. You can switch back to seeing personal results by clicking the http://www.google.com/help/hc/images/websearch/websearch_searchplus.gif personal results button.
You can turn off personal results in your search settings new window. This action is account-specific, meaning that personal results will remain disabled as long as you're signed in to your Google Account new window.
·  Click the gear icon gear in the top right corner of the search results page.
·  Click Search settings.
·  In the "Search plus Your World" section, select "Do not use personal results."
If you turn off personal results and stay signed in to your Google Account, you won't see results personalized based on your Google+ circles (or suggested connections), Google products, or your search history.
If you turn off personal results and sign out of your Google Account, you may still see personalized results and results based on the context of your search.
http://support.google.com/websearch/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=2410479

No comments:

Post a Comment